Headwaters at the Comal
The 16-acre Klingemann Property has served as the current project site since the 1940’s. Many structures and existing buildings pads will be reused in order to reduce the carbon footprint and restore as much of the property to its natural state. A major spring head will be un-capped, cultivating riparian zones and restoring habitat for native species in and around the spring. The visitor’s center will include demonstration areas for water conservation techniques and a trail that meanders through the site, showcasing several different native ecologies. The multi-purpose space, auditorium and conference center will host NBU’s large annual events, as well as smaller community gatherings. Construction starts summer of 2016.
Landscape Architect: Ten Eyck Landscape Architects